// the code below was added on 04/08/2019

When you take your electric service from Midwest Energy & Communications, you are more than a consumer; you are an owner who has a voice and are encouraged to take an active role in the life of the organization

We are governed by a nine-member board of directors and each is elected to serve a three-year term. Directors are elected by and represent you and others who live in their district. This is an important role as directors make critical decisions on behalf of all co-op consumers. Learn more about board representation and expectations here.

Three board seats are up for election in 2019. If you are a co-op electric consumer interested in serving, please contact us for a petition, then secure 30 or more valid signatures. Your completed petition and a biography must be returned to our Cassopolis office by 4:30 p.m. on Jan. 2, 2019 to be placed on the ballot for one of the three terms ending in April 2019. Ballots will be mailed to the district members on Jan. 22, 2019 and counted on Feb. 12, 2019.  Board members must reside in the district they represent.

In 2019, seats in Districts 6, 7 and 9 are up for election.  District 6 is currently represented by Ben Russell of Constantine.  The district includes Porter (Cass County), Constantine, Florence, Mottville and White Pigeon Townships in Michigan, and Washington, York and Van Buren Townships in Indiana.

Gerry Bundle of Cassopolis is the current director in District 7, which includes Jefferson, Calvin, Ontwa and Mason Townships in Michigan, and Harris and Osolo Townships in Indiana.

District 9 is currently an open seat. The district includes Hudson, Dover, Madison, Palmyra, Medina, Seneca, Fairfield, Ogden, Riga and southern portions of Blissfield and Deerfield Townships in Michigan. Also, Mill Creek, Gorham, Chesterfield, Royalton, Franklin, Dover, Pike, Clinton and German Townships in Ohio.

For more information, please call us at 800-492-5989.