2020 Board Elections

Published on Wednesday, November 6, 2019 in Electric

When you get your electric service from Midwest Energy & Communications, you are more than a customer; you are an owner who has a voice and is encouraged to take an active role in the life of the organization.

We are governed by a nine-member board of directors and each is elected to serve a three-year term. Directors are elected by and represent you and others who live in their district. This is an important role as directors make critical decisions on behalf of all co-op customers. Learn more about board representation and expectations here.

Three board seats are up for election in 2020. If you are a co-op electric customer interested in serving, please contact us for a petition, then secure 30 or more valid signatures. Your completed petition and a biography must be returned to our Cassopolis office by 4:30 p.m. on Jan. 2, 2020 to be placed on the ballot for one of the three terms ending in April 2020. Ballots will be mailed to the district customers on Jan. 21 and counted on Feb. 11. Board members must reside in the district they represent.

Fred Turk
Fred Turk, District 1

In 2020, Districts 1, 2 and 5 will be up for election. District 1 is currently represented by Fred Turk of Decatur and includes Decatur, Hamilton, Penn, Porter (Van Buren County), Marcellus and Volina Townships.

Jim Dickerson, District 2
Jim Dickerson, District 2

Jim Dickerson of Bloomingdale is the current director in District 2, which includes Arlington, Bainbridge, Bangor, Bloomingdale, Coloma, Covert, Hartford, Keeler, Lawrence, Paw Paw, Pipestone, Silver Creek, Watervliet and Waverly Townships

John Green, District 5
John Green, District 5

The current District 5 director is John Green of Dowagiac. District 5 includes Howard, LaGrange, Milton, Pokagon and Wayne Townships.

For more information about serving on the board of directors, please contact us