Board of Directors Elections 2023

Published on Wednesday, August 31, 2022 in Board of Directors

One of the seven guiding principles of cooperatives is democratic member control. We are governed by a nine-member board of directors, and each is elected to serve a three-year term. Directors are elected by and represent those who live in their district, and make critical decisions on behalf of all co-op members.

Three board seats are up for election next year. If you are a co-op electric customer interested in serving, a candidate application packet will be made available online. Fill out the required forms and secure 30 or more valid co-op customer signatures. Your completed packet must be returned to our Cassopolis office by 5 p.m. EST on Dec. 1 to be placed on the ballot for one of the three terms ending in April 2026. Ballots will be mailed and/or emailed to the district members on Jan. 18, 2023 and must be submitted by Feb. 10. Board members must reside in the district they represent.

Please note that exact dates are subject to change.

Seats in Districts 1, 2, and 5 will be up for election. District 1 is currently represented by Fred Turk of Decatur. The district includes Decatur, Hamilton, Penn, Porter (Van Buren County), Marcellus, and Volinia townships.

District 5 is currently represented by John Green of Dowagiac. The district includes Howard, LaGrange, Milton, Pokagon, and Wayne townships.

Jim Dickerson of Bloomingdale resigned on Aug. 1 as shared via a letter mailed to District 2 electric members on Aug. 5, 2022. This is now an open seat, and we are currently reviewing qualified candidates who applied by Aug. 26, 2022 to fulfill the remainder of this term ending April 2023. District 2 includes Arlington, Bainbridge, Bangor, Bloomingdale, Coloma, Covert, Hartford, Keeler, Lawrence, Paw Paw, Pipestone, Silver Creek, Watervliet, and Waverly townships.

Fred Turk and John Green plan to run for re-election. The appointed director to District 2 will have the option to run for re-election.

For more information about serving on the board of directors, please call the cooperative at 800-492-5989 or send an email to

Vote for Your Director Electronically

You will have the opportunity to vote electronically if you choose. You will receive an email from the MEC election coordinator with instructions on the voting process on or around Jan. 18. Please verify that we have the correct email address on file by logging into SmartHub and going to My Profile> My Information. You can also call us at 800-492-5989. Please verify your information by Dec. 16.

In the meantime, please add as an approved sender in your email account. Since every email provider is unique, we recommend that you refer to the support section of your email account for instructions on how to do this.